John McCann

What is globalization?

In Globalization on April 25, 2006 at 1:11 pm

In 1998, I was teaching a course titled Technology, Globalization and Competition in the Global Executive MBA program at the Fuqua School of Business. This was a very innovative program that made extensive use of technology to develop a premiere MBA program. And my course was entirely new. I had never taught it, it had never been taught at Duke, and as far as I could tell it had never been taught anywhere.

I had been teaching courses about the technologies, which included sessions on how technology enabled new competitors to enter and succeed in an industry when existing firms were not able or willing to successfully innovate. But I had never studied globalization and had to quickly come up to speed on the relevant concepts and models. As I read through the literature, I saw that the term "globalization" was used in many different ways and meant different things to many people. My next step was to develop my own definition of globalization, based upon the most promising approaches uncovered in my reading.

In 1998 I wrote a short paper titled "Globalization: Real Time Relationships Among Dispersed Individuals and Organizations" and used it in the course. I just added this paper as a Page which can be accessed from the link "What is globalization?" at the top of the right hand column of this blog. Or you can get to it by clicking on this link.

Note: WordPress, the software and hosting service for this blog, provides two ways to add information to a blog:

  1. Posts: the time-oriented entries of which this entry is an example.
  2. Pages: the more static entries that appear under the Pages heading at the top of the right hand column of this page. As of now, this blog has three pages: About, Resume and What is globalization?

I will be using Pages for my longer essays.

Leave a Reply

